Helping People Find Good Health Information Online

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 11:00am - 12:00pm - Greenwich Mean Time GMT
Archive available
One Hour

According to a recent Pew report, 59% of US adults say they have looked online for health information in the past year. How can libraries help guide people to quality online medical information? Join this session to learn more!

The presenter for this session is Dana Abbey, who is a Health Information Literacy Coordinator for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. She will overview MedlinePlus, a free online resource produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. She will also share tips and techniques to help libraries provide health information assistance to patrons.
 
This free webinar is scheduled for Wednesday, April 17th at 11 a.m. Pacific time/noon Mountain time/1 p.m. Central time/2 p.m. Eastern time.
 
This webinar is part of a series of webinars exploring the Edge Initiative Benchmarks, specifically Benchmark 3, which includes: The library supports use of public technology for health and wellness purposes.

Please contact webinars@techsoupglobal.org with accessibility requests 4 days before the event.

Have a story to tell?

Tell us about your daily routine maintaining public computers, or a moment when you were particularly proud. Don't forget that what might be "that's nothing" to you may be an "aha!" to someone else!