Two Free Technology Webinars: learn about Second Life and online donations

We had an interesting webinar last week on wikis, and two more free tech webinars are coming up soon! Hmmm, I wonder if any libraries are combining these two topics and using Second Life to link to a site for online donations?

Using Second Life to Collaborate and Connect

Thursday, May 13, 2010, 11:00 AM Pacific (Noon Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern)  Second Life is utilized worldwide to offer trainings, connect with friends and collaborate with colleagues. This webinar will give an overview of Second Life, why nonprofits and libraries use it, and the benefits and the costs. Hear from Susan Tenby and Renne Brock-Richmond who will discuss best practices, give examples of how nonprofits and libraries are using Second Life, and help you understand how your library can utilize this power tool. 

Make it Easy to Give: Taking Online Donations

Thursday, May 20, 2010, 11:00 AM Pacific (Noon Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern)

Are you interested in receiving online donations, but not sure where to start? There are a lot of options and it’s not always easy to determine the best solution for your library. Attend this free webinar and learn how you can raise money online and use tools that will make it safe for your donors.

We will talk about ways to take donations, learn about related products that TechSoup offers (such as Comodo, spotlighted below), and hear from people using those tools. This webinar is ideal for decision makers, development directors, website managers, or anyone interested in learning more about taking online donations.

You can discuss TechSoup webinars on Twitter with the hashtag #techsoup or join us for a live-stream of the events in Second Life. See all upcoming TechSoup webinars plus other free technology webinars at: http://techsoupforlibraries.org/events. All webinars are archived and can be viewed at any time.